By this definition and how the play unfolded, Jennings clearly establishes the initial catch, so ignore the first sentence in this rule about the ball belonging to the passers (which is where the replacement ref reviewing the call most likely got this wrong in the first place)... The 2nd sentence goes on to state that the play is ruled not a simultaneous catch... Which it was deemed a simultaneous catch (this is the problem with the rule)... Then the player who gains control first and the opponent (2nd) subsequently gains joint control, that it would not be a simultaneous catch...
So answer here is that this should've been ruled/deemed that Jennings gained control first (this would eliminate the first part of the ruling), second that because Jennings establishes "control" first and the second player then gains "control" simultaneously, that it is still NOT a simultaneous catch (still rules out the first sentence in this ruling), thus granting possession (and "control") to the first player who established the catch & control which was Jennings...
Here is a set of shots from that sequence... Judge for yourself... but GB got hosed... Between the Baltimore crowd yelling Bull Shit across national TV and this blown call in which cost another key market team a bad loss... I will say two things... First I will not be watching the NFL Thurs/Sun/Mon this upcoming weekend, the NFL has lost my viewership for a week after this weekend... I may even take 2 weeks off... We'll see how bad they blow the next week's worth of games... But the NFL has chosen to put a poor product on the field, thinking we are simply going to watch no matter what the result is... Well I take my stand here... I'll watch the highlights instead next week
No comments:
Post a Comment